Lampung Province

Lampung is one of provinces in Indonesia. It is located on the southern tip of the island of Sumatra and borders the provinces of Bengkulu and South Sumatra. Lampung is the original home of the Lampung people, who speak a distinct language from other people in Sumatra and have their own alphabet. Its capital city is Bandar Lampung.

The province had a population of approximately 7,596,115 according to the 2010 census.[1] Three quarters of the current population of Lampung is descended from migrants from Java, Madura, and Bali. These migrants came on their initiative, in search of more land than was available on the more densely populated islands, and as part of the national government's transmigration program, for which Lampung was one of the earliest and most significant transmigration destinations.

Lampung is commonly known for its geographical instability due to its unavoidable earthquakes and volcanoes . On the 10th of May 2005, an earthquake measuring 6.4 on the Richter scale struck the province. The historical volcano blast of Krakatau which occurred in 1883, had disastrous consequences.

The number of regencies has now developed. For example, Tanggamus is now no longer under South Lampung Authority; Pesawaran, Pringsewu, which were under Tanggamus are now separate regencies and Pesisir Barat is also one of the regencies. New development also happened in Tulangbawang regencies, which is now divided into four regencies: Tulang Bawang Barat, Tulang Bawang Tengah, Mesuji and Tulang Bawang.

Up to the year of 2013, the agency of Public Work has finished building two flyovers: flyover connecting Jl.Sultan Agung to Jl. Riya Cudu, and another one connecting Jl.Pangeran Antasari to Jl. Tirtayasa. The third flyover is still under construction.

Yearly Average Population Growth Rate In Lampung for 2010-2015

Author: verified_user